André Faaij

Academic member · 

Govermental member


André P.C. Faaij is appointed as Director of Science of TNO Energy Transition. He focuses on strategy, large research initiatives and collaboration with academia. He combines this position with a part time chair as Distinguished Professor Energy System Analysis at the University of Groningen (RUG).

He is a member of a variety of expert groups in energy policy, research and strategic planning. He works and worked as an advisor for governments, the EC, IEA, the UN system, GEF, OECD, WEF, WEC, the energy sector & industry, strategic consultancy, NGO’s, etc. Being part of IPCC, he was jointly awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007. Furthermore, he was appointed Young Global Leader by the World Economic Forum and 2015 he received The Linneborn Prize; established in 1994 for outstanding contributions to the development of energy from biomass.

He is board member and works as guest editor several key energy journals is a much asked reviewer for a variety of journals, scientific (including the European Research Council (ERC), National Science Foundation and the Royal Academy) and government bodies. He published over 600 titles in scientific journals, reports, books and proceedings, qualifies as ‘highly cited researcher’ (top 1% of research field) by criteria of Clarivate Web of Science and is frequently lecturing across the globe.

Affiliation · Affiliation · Personal page

Stichting The Sustainable Industry Lab

Princetonlaan 8a, 3584 CB Utrecht,
The Netherlands
P. O. Box 80.115, 3508 TC Utrecht,
The Netherlands

Chamber of Commerce: 80381375

Follow us: Twitter · LinkedIn